- You can leave a WhatsApp group without anyone knowing — except for the admin — in the latest version of the app.
- In older versions of WhatsApp, group members were notified when you left a group chat.
- Members can still see that you've left a group chat if they look at the members list on the chat's details page, but they won't be notified.
Group chats have their place, but no one likes to be seen abruptly leaving a party early, and that's what it can feel like to exit a group chat on WhatsApp.
Thankfully, you can leave a WhatsApp group chat without fellow members of the chat knowing immediately that you've left; you can do it silently, and only the group admin is notified.
How to leave a WhatsApp group chat without anyone knowing
Thanks to a recent update to WhatsApp, most group chat members are no longer notified when you leave the group.
1. In WhatsApp, tap the Chats tab at the bottom of the page.
2. In the Chats list, tap the group you want to leave.
3. On the conversation page, tap the group name at the top of the screen.
4. On the info page, scroll down and tap Exit Group.
You'll silently leave the group — and members will not be notified, except for the group's admin. Of course, group members will be able to see that you have left if they inspect the list of participants on the group's details page.
If you want to be sure that you leave a group without notifying the other members, make sure you are using the latest version of the WhatsApp app. Here is how to update your apps on Android and how to update apps on an iPhone.