Add news
March 2010
April 2010
May 2010June 2010July 2010
August 2010
September 2010October 2010
November 2010
December 2010
January 2011
February 2011March 2011April 2011May 2011June 2011July 2011August 2011September 2011October 2011November 2011December 2011January 2012February 2012March 2012April 2012May 2012June 2012July 2012August 2012September 2012October 2012November 2012December 2012January 2013February 2013March 2013April 2013May 2013June 2013July 2013August 2013September 2013October 2013November 2013December 2013January 2014February 2014March 2014April 2014May 2014June 2014July 2014August 2014September 2014October 2014November 2014December 2014January 2015February 2015March 2015April 2015May 2015June 2015July 2015August 2015September 2015October 2015November 2015December 2015January 2016February 2016March 2016April 2016May 2016June 2016July 2016August 2016September 2016October 2016November 2016December 2016January 2017February 2017March 2017April 2017May 2017June 2017July 2017August 2017September 2017October 2017November 2017December 2017January 2018February 2018March 2018April 2018May 2018June 2018July 2018August 2018September 2018October 2018November 2018December 2018January 2019February 2019March 2019April 2019May 2019June 2019July 2019August 2019September 2019October 2019November 2019December 2019January 2020February 2020March 2020April 2020May 2020June 2020July 2020August 2020September 2020October 2020November 2020December 2020January 2021February 2021
News Every Day |

What is the ICC World Test Championship, does the England vs India series count towards it and do The Ashes matter?

AS every cricket fan knows, you just can’t beat Test cricket.

The longest and most absorbing form of the game is the pinnacle for international players – and the ICC have introduced a new format designed to make it even more exciting.

England are currently in action in a tour of India
Sri Lanka Cricket

What is the ICC World Test Championship?

THE World Test Championship is the ICC’s plan to give Test cricket a competition that can rival those in the one-day game.

Originally planned for 2013 but hit with long delays, the new-look competition is set to take place over nearly two years.

It start in August 2019 and finishes in June 2021, where two teams will contest a grand final.

Here’s how the World Test Championship works:

  • The top nine Test playing nations will all compete (Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies).
  • Each team will play three home and three away Test series.
  • Every one of these series will carry a maximum of 120 points.
  • Sides are given 60 points per win in a 2-match series and 24 points for a win in a 5-match series.
  • After each team has played their six series, the points will be added together in a league format.
  • The top two teams will then face off in a final in June 2021.

The second edition of the tournament is scheduled to run from July 2021 to June 2023.

Do The Ashes count towards it?

OLD enemies England and Australia are doing battle once again for the famous urn.

The Aussies are the current holders after a comprehensive victory Down Under in 2017/18 followed up with a tied series in England in 2019.

But England visit Down Under in the winter, but this is AFTER the finals this summer, so only the 2019 series counts.

Who are England going to play?

Home Test series

  • Australia – L
  • West Indies – W
  • Pakistan – W

Away Test series

  • Sri Lanka – W
  • India – On now

Read also

Hopes rising for millions of drivers fuel duty might NOT rise in Budget after Sun’s Keep It Down campaign

Gasly eyes Alpha Tauri ‘leadership role’ in 2021

Bulgaria’s Exports to Germany Grow to Record Highs Despite Pandemic

News, articles, comments, with a minute-by-minute update, now on — latest news 24/7. You can add your news instantly now — here
News Every Day

Marketing Automation & WordPress: Plugins & Tips to Get Started